Weekly Photo Challenge: Down

Day 196 – February 3, 2012

The latest theme for the Weekly Photo Challenge from WordPress is Down.

The photo:

Sandboarding down dunes in Peru

A gritty ride

The background:

The family, with my visiting suegra (Spanish for “mother-in-law”), took a weekend trip to the towns of Ica and Paracas, which is a lovely three-hour ride heading south from Lima on the Pan-American Highway.

Our first stop was near Ica, at a place called Laguna Huacachina. This is an oasis that is surrounded by massive sand dunes. One of the activities that can be done is to rent a driver who will take you out in his dune buggy and give you a ninety-minute heart-stopping thrill ride up, down, sideways, and backwards across the dunes that comprise this desolate and sandy landscape. It’s like a roller coaster, but without knowing where the track is…and half the time, I don’t think the driver did either.

In addition to that gasoline-fueled ride, our driver stopped five times and offered us the chance to ride sandboards down the sloped dunes. With the exception of mi suegra, all of us partook of this new experience.

The photo you see above has my daughter in the center just as she starts her first ride of the day. You can’t hear her squeals in this snapshot, but they are there. The dot at the right is my lovely wife at the end of her initial run. The perspective, I believe, gives you a sense of the distance my daughter has ahead of her. The man on the left was our driver who, yes, drives a dune buggy barefoot.

About sinpolaris

Xavier Humes is the psuedonym of an American living in Lima, Peru, with his wife and family. That's about all's ya need to know concerning me...except to enjoy the posts.

Posted on February 17, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. funny – we have a place you can do that here in NZ too

  2. What a memorable time! It sounds like a blast!

  3. Northern Narratives

    That looks like fun.

  4. Wow! That looks amazing but I’d be worried about ‘eating’ it on the way down!

    • As I can tell you from experience, when we went down on our stomach (as pictured), no one “ate” it. There was only time when I went down standing up (as a real boarder should go) that I fell down, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as you might imagine…although I was picking sand out of my pockets for a day or two afterwards.

    • …and a workout-and-a-half climbing back up the hill…which I only tried once. After that breath-taking experience (literally…I was gasping for air), I waited for the dune buggy to come down and pick us up every other time.

  5. Wonderful for the this week’s theme!

  6. whee! love how you can see the woman at the end of the slide!

    • I do too (and I love her also as she is my lovely wife) and I think it does a good job in showing how far we had to slide on that run. That was our first run and each one became progressively longer.

  1. Pingback: A Rocky Road « Sin Polaris

  2. Pingback: Photo Friday: Downward « Sin Polaris

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Sin Polaris

  4. Pingback: Photo Friday: Reflected « Sin Polaris

  5. Pingback: Wrapping Up: All The Be?t | Sin Polaris

  6. Pingback: Lone Regret | Sin Polaris

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

