On The Grid

Day 010 – August 1, 2011

While I knew I would experience some level of cultural unfamiliarity when moving to Peru (i.e., language, cuisine, music), I am constantly being surprised by all the tiny differences between where I came from and where I am now.

Case in point…

In addition to the stress our family felt as we packed our lives into tiny cardboard boxes and suitcases two weeks ago, we had the added burden of trying to find all the school supplies for our oldest child. Our children’s future place of education started in the first week of August and the School had sent to us a list of all the supplies that our eldest would need.

Some things on the list were easy to find in the States (e.g., pencils, erasers) and those would be coming with us.

However, one item was completely impossible to find by my lovely wife. She had no issue finding notebooks, but the School had specifically stated that the notebooks had to be filled with graph paper.

Graph paper?

This was not just his math notebook – where graph paper makes sense as you try to draw a parabola between the x and y axis – but every notebook for every subject needed to have paper made up of little squares.

I seriously wondered if our oldest son needed all that graph paper because he would be drawing 10×10 rooms or 2×20 hallways filled with wandering monsters and secret doors (for the uninitiated, that would be a Dungeons & Dragons reference).

So we left the States empty-handed in the notebook area as every store that my lovely wife went to in both the brick-and-mortar world and cyberspace only sold notebooks with lined paper.

Picture of lined notebook paper

College ruled...my paper of choice

We came to Peru hoping for the best…and found it.

On one of my outings to our local grocery store, while I was looking for a notebook filled with lined paper to keep my notes for this blog, I encountered the exact opposite of our search in the Northern Hemisphere.

The shelves were only stocked with notebooks filled with graph paper.

Notebook with graph paper

The quest hath ended

I’m still unsure why the local education system requires students to do their work solely on graph paper, but all I care about right now is that our oldest now has the notebooks he needs to start his school year.

Plus, he’s also prepared to map out the third level of any dungeon he happens to come across.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. As a school teacher, I do use that kind of paper in class…it is good for keeping notes, aligning math problems, and drawing dungeons….
    The type of paper you have photographed is called “executive paper” in the USA.

    • Thanks for the heads-up on the name for the type of paper. I appreciate that. After a year here in Peru, the appeal of graph paper is starting to grow on me.

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Urban « Sin Polaris

Leave a Reply

