Day Jobs

Day 014 – August 5, 2011

I will never complain about any job that I have held or any future cubicle-dwelling employment I will have the pleasure of attending.

This is because I have seen people doing the following work and I am not them:

Cabbies
I once worked as a courier in the Southern California area so I became fairly adept at navigating the byways and highways of the counties of Los Angeles, Orange, and San Diego. However, I only delivered inanimate objects (e.g., blueprints, legal documents) and they never complained if I was a wee bit late. The people receiving said inanimate objects were another matter, but I only had to deal with them for 30 seconds. I have a healthy dose of respect for the cabbies in Lima who have to deal with the insane traffic and the less-than-stellar roads.

So far, in my dealings with taxi drivers from our house to school (and vice-versa), I have noticed that there are four different ways to start at Point A and arrive at Point B. Now that I know there is a back-back-back way which actually avoids Ovalo Monitor (aka The Circle of Death). I have begun to tip my hack based on the cleverness of his route.

Grass Planters
On the traffic island on the main street in our neighborhood, I saw workers planting grass in the city’s attempt to beautify the district.

People planting grass

Traffic Island Workers

What is different about this exercise in planting grass is that the workers are not using sod, carpets of grass that can be rolled out onto the dirt. Instead, as if they were on a rice paddy, the workers were hand-planting individual packets of the green stuff. Was this the most efficient way to do it? Probably not, but I’ve commented on this tendency before.

Street Washers
As I have espied city workers manually sweeping the sides of the street with only a broom and I have seen folk cleaning outside plants, those occupations can be combined into one profession as I saw, on Skateboard Hill no less, people wearing the uniform of our district on their knees washing the Botts’ Dots, the reflective lane markers embedded into the asphalt. Did I mention that traffic was driving around them at the same time?

Car Washers
In our suburban area of Lima, wherever there are parking lots, we will see these workers.

Picture of car washers

At the Car Wash

After a car is parked, these helpful folk will come up and ask if the driver if they want their car washed. For a few soles while you shop, go to the gym, or eat, these workers will clean the dust off the car.

In the picture above, the windshield wipers are up which is a code to let all know that this car is being washed / has been washed.

Where I lived in northern Virginia, raised wipers meant really cold weather was coming and we didn’t want the rubber of the wipers to freeze to the glass.

Hmmm…I wonder what other gestures are the same, but mean completely different things.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

