Los Anos Ochenta

Day 015 – August 6, 2011

Before making our move to Peru, I remember telling my kids while we were still in Virginia that there was only one thing that I was definitely going to miss.

It wasn’t family and friends (sorry) because thanks to the series of tubes known as the Internet, our group of five would be able to keep in touch with folks back in the States. All hail e-mail, Skype, and Facebook.

When I made this statement to my children, we were walking to the one place that I was going to miss during our sojourn to the City of Kings.

I was going to miss California Tortilla.

Nowhere in Lima would I be able to enjoy the wide variety of burritos as they are offered at CalTort. In fact, I’m not even sure that the burrito is a staple of Peruvian cuisine. For that matter, I’m not even positive that Mexican cuisine holds the burrito in its pantheon.

While it was true that I was going to miss the great food and the wall of spicy sauces at California Tortilla, what I truly really was going to miss was the music they played at our establishment in Ashburn, Virginia. That California Tortilla played nothing but ’80s music.

Ah, the look of bored resignation that would come over my kids’s faces whenever I would wax nostalgic about Men at Work, The Police, Van Halen, Robert Palmer, Adam Ant, or any other musical act that was big when I was lad in high school (1982 – 1986…thanks for asking) was the extra salsa on my burrito that made our outings that much more special.

So, when coming to Lima, I was resigned to the fact that if I wanted to hear my music, I would be confined to my iPod and Pandora (thank you again, you magical series of tubes).

Oh, dear Heaven above, how wrong I was.

Remember in my last posting when I wrote about our trip to Jockey Plaza where I wrote…

We finished our mercantile excursion with a stopover at a grocery store. My audio impression of that portion of the trip will wait for another posting…

Well, here is that other posting.

In the local grocery store in Jockey Plaza, the music that is piped in from the ceiling to entertain the shoppers was nothing but music from the 1980s.

There was Phil Collins with “Sususido”, The Bangles with “Walk Like an Egyptian”, Huey Lewis and the News with “The Power of Love”, Pat Benatar with “Love is a Battlefield”, and (my personal favorite, and wtih a great video to boot…and now you know way too much about me) a-ha with “Take On Me“.

Not only is my local grocery store a fine purveyor of aural nostalgia, but I have since discovered a radio station, Oxigeno (102.1 on your FM dial), that dabbles in “Los Anos Ochenta” (that would be Spanish for “The Eighties”).

If I can hear “Sultans of Swing” or “Money for Nothing” on the radio or while shopping for butter, I know things are going to be okay and that I can enjoy my burrito-less environment.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on December 17, 2011, in Peru, Similar and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

