Help Wanted in Peru

Day 018 – August 9, 2011

Strolling through my neighborhood today, I saw this sign outside an art supply store:

Sign outside art supply store in Lima, Peru

No EEO here

For those of you not fluent in Spanish (yeah, come to me my fellow monolinguists!), the sign reads “Young woman needed.”

I’m not quite sure if this is a Help Wanted sign or an extremely poor attempt at a personal ad.

The women in the store must have demanded equal time because two months later (Day 074 – October 4, 2011 for those of you playing along with the official Sin Polaris Scorecard), a new sign appeared below the original:

Updated sign outside art supply store in Lima, Peru

I do not qualify for either position

Google Translate again to the rescue as the new sign is asserting that the store is now looking for a “Young [man], skilled and agile”.

I can only imagine what the applicants have to do to show their agile-ness.

I can also imagine the hue and cry in the States if some outfit in Michigan, Arkansas, Hawaii, or Oregon put up these signs.

Well, best of luck to this art store in finding who they are looking are.

Of course, and as always, if my translations are not up to snuff, I fall back on Disclaimer No.2.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

