More Fun Than a 3-Liter Bottle of Monkeys

Day 191 – January 29, 2012

With my suegra (Spanish for “mother-in-law”…there’s your new word for the day) in town visiting, the whole family took her on an outing to the large zoo here in Lima known as Parque de las Leyandas. Not just a zoo, this locations also hosts various archaeological sites and a botanical garden.

While I could show you all the amazing photos I took of llamas, pumas, eagles, and other Andean fauna, I instead will hand the camera strap over to my middle child and let him show off his photographic prowess…

Picture of monley at Lima's zoo

Monkey

Picture of coati in Lima's zoo

Coati

Picture of black leopard in Lima's zoo

Black leopard

Picture of middle child at Lima's zoo

Uh...I think it goes the other way, child

In addition to watching the habits of falcons, tapirs, and alpacas, I noticed another new (to me) idiosyncrasy of Peruvian culture. While I noticed this behavior more frequently than I was able to snap pics of it, here are a pair of examples of what I am about to speak of…

Person with bottle at Lima's zoo

Person with bottle #1

Person with bottle at zoo in Lima

Person with bottle #2

In my wanderings, I have seen people traipsing around whatever venue (zoo, soccer fields, Malecon, etc.) I was at with bottles of various sizes (3-liter, 2.5-liter, sometimes 2-liter, but never less than that) containing soda. In addition to the bottles, folks walk around with plastic cups that they use to pour the liquid into. Sometimes the person drinks with their own cup and sometimes the bottle-carrier has multiple cups and the bottle is passed around.

The website How to Peru has a good write-up on this phenomenon when beer is the quaff of choice, but I, so far, have only seen this being done when a carbonated beverage is on the menu.

At first, I had the thought that people only brought their own 3-liter bottle to wherever their travels took them, but then I noticed at the zoo that the tiny snack kiosks that are everywhere sell soda (and the brands of choice are mostly Coca-Cola products or Inca Kola) in 3-liter bottles also.

I did not see if they also sell plastic cups individually or in groups.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on February 4, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

