What Must They Think?

Day 019 – August 10, 2011

Today was the first full day workers were in our house doing some maintenance. This will be a two-week affair as a sextet of men drill away at the concrete of our home and install heating and cooling units.

As the men begin their day of work, I begin my day of basic housework (sweep floor, laundry, make beds, etc.).

While I am putting a load of whites in the washer (and remembering to put the Water Selection dial to “Cold” because our washer labels are mixed-up), I had this thought:

What must these men be thinking about me?

Were these gentlemen wondering why I, an able-bodied man, was doing (heaven forfend) woman’s work?

Or, were these gentlemen thinking how lucky I was to have my wife go out and do all the hard bread-winning work while they had to lug around heating and cooling units and all I needed to do was fluff clothes.

Courtesy of my poor language skills, I could not satisfy my curiosity as to what their perceptions were about me.

All in all, all that really matters is what I think of myself – which is that I am indeed lucky.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Peru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Work is all about spending a lot of time doing something you don’t really want to do.

  2. Egalitarianism! These are a few of my favourite things.

    • I’m not too proud to say that I had to dive to my dictionary to find out what “egalitariansim” meant. Thanks for the comment and the excuse to discover words.

  3. Chantell Pniewski

    Thanks for your post

Leave a Reply

