Time To Myself

Day 233 – March 11, 2012

At times, it truly is the little things that give me great joy.

Last night and this morning, I had time to myself here in Peru that I did not have while I lived in the States.

Here is why I had time to myself:

I did not have to change the time on my wristwatch.
I did not have to change the time on my bedside alarm clock.
I did not have to change the time on my microwave.
I did not have to change the time on my car’s clock.
I did not have to change the time on my DVD/VCR.
I did not have to change the time on any clock or timekeeping device that I own.

I did not have to do these time-consuming and mundane activities because Peru does not follow that archaic insanity known as Daylight Savings Time.

With the ten minutes I saved, I read a magazine article.

I did check the batteries in the smoke detectors though. Some things you have to do regardless of where you live.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ha! I live in Indiana, which didn’t observe DST until a few years ago. It was a pain when doing business with other parts of the country or other countries. A typical conversation:

    Business partner: You’re same time as Chicago, right?
    Me: Yes.
    then later…..
    Business partner: Same time as Chicago, right?
    Me: No, Same time as New York for now.
    Partner: But I thought it was Chicago.
    Repeat every six months….

    Or this, a typical email to colleagues across the globe:

    “The meeting will be at 9am PDT, 12pm EST.”

    Get the following replies, almost always Reply All:

    No, it’s 12pm EDT.
    No, it’s 12pm CDT.

    NO! It’s 12pm ES–S is for STANDARD–T.

    Quoting Greenwich Time confused everybody, because the UK offices were also on Summer Time which differed from those in Paris.

    I finally started sending out notices like: 9am in Cali, 12pm in Indy.

    Once we started observing DST, it seemed that everybody remembered we used to be same time as Chicago in the summer. “But you’re the same time as Chi-town, right? Not NYC. I called into the conference bridge at the right time!”

    Sigh….lots of lost 10 minutes.

    • Ah, I remember that frustration. We had a guy in our office (back when I worked) who liked to refer to ZULU time.

      At least for the moment, I don’t have to worry about DST anymore, except when I call my family back home and have to remember what time it is for them.

Leave a Reply

