Discos De Oro

Day 247 – March 25, 2012

The 1980s are big here in Peru.

Radio station play their music. It’s piped in to the local grocery stores. Bands of that era come to the City of Kings (i.e., Elton John, The Smiths, Aerosmith, Erasure, Roxette).

The 1980s are big here in Peru, but I have found another decade that lives on the airwaves.

Completely by accident (and the short version of the story is I overheard it while my daughter was at a roadside kiosk making a painting for the low, low price of S/. 2), I discovered Radio Magica 88.3 FM which has the tagline of “Disco de oros en ingles” (Golden oldies in English).

This is a radio station, located on the left-hand side of the dial that is in the United States reserved for National Public Radio, that plays mostly hits of the 1970s and a smattering from the 60s and 80s.

Eighty-eight-point-three on the FM (which, by the way, stands for Frequency Modulation) dial is where I can now hear Billy Joel (the pre-Christie Brinkley Mr. Joel), Glenn Campbell, Barry Manilow, Karen Carpenter, Kenny Rogers, the Beatles (the Mop Top version of the Fab Four), and KC & the Sunshine Band.

Other than having the opportunity of hearing “Close to You” or “Copacabana” again and relive those fond aural memories, I can listen to the radio and not have to worry about F-bombs like I do with other stations.

When in the car and listening to my favorites 80s station, Oxigeno, I will sometimes teach my three kids about the 1980s music that we hear (The Police, The Who, Eagles), which leads to some interesting discussions (“Really, Papi, the lead singer of Twisted Sister is a guy even though he sounds like a girl”). Now I have a whole new decade of music that I can teach them about.

I can’t wait to show them the YouTube videos so they can see what disco really looked like.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Peru, Similar and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

