Weekly Photo Challenge: Blue

Day 254 – April 1, 2012

The Daily Post portion of the WordPress website came out with their weekly photo challenge and the theme is “blue“.

I expect lots of sky and ocean.

My offering for this week’s challenge will follow that same vein. What can I say? Lima, Peru, is a beautiful place and a photographer’s dream.

The photograph below was taken at the same beach in Barranco that I used as the setting for the Weekly Photo Challenge theme of “Two Subjects“. Two-thirds of my children enjoyed the sun, sand, and surf while the other third remained true to his teenage self and sulked rather than admit to having any semblance of fun.

As we were leaving, I noticed this shell of a building that was being raised to house a restaurant. This area of the beach was undergoing something of a construction boom and there were several of these vacant edifices.

While my initial intent was to frame the gorgeous sky and surf through the metal of the eatery-to-be, I noticed the woman on the concrete and maneuvered myself to place her in the shot also.

Blue

Perhaps she too is blue

I snapped the picture and my mind wandered as to her story.

Was she waiting for someone?

Was she a tourist or a local?

Was this her first time to this beach or was this an old haunt?

Was she remembering someone or trying to forget?

Is she taking a picture or applying make-up?

What’s in the bag by her side?

Will the restaurant open in time?

From one snapshot, the possibilities of fiction are endless.

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I do so love this place.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Peru, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I really like the way this shot s framed!

  2. Very lovely shot, totally unique, I love it. Great entry. xxx Ailsa

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Solitary « Sin Polaris

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: My 2012 in Pictures « Sin Polaris

Leave a Reply

