Does Their Parent Know About This?

Day 325 – June 11, 2012

In our area of Peru, we had two options for television service. The first was the satellite option courtesy of DirectTV with its signal coming out of Puerto Rico. We opted for the cable path and signed up with Movistar.

The fun with Movistar’s program offering – other than the five channels solely devoted to soccer futbol – is that several of the channels are the Latin American version of networks found in the United States. These channels are dubbed in Spanish and have commercials for products that can only be found in Chile, Mexico, or Argentina.

With The History Channel or The Science Channel, the programs themselves are dubbed in Spanish so this gives me an opportunity to practice hearing this language. It also makes for fascinating viewing as I watch Adam Savage and Jaime Hyneman, of Mythbusters fame, speak in vastly different pitches and timbres that what I am used to (a phenomenon similar to what I wrote about earlier with Phineas and Ferb).

Other channels leave the programs in English, but all the commercials and network promos are in Spanish. One of those networks that does this is the Latin American version of Syfy – the broadcast entity formerly known as The Sci-Fi Channel.

On Syfy, I like to watch Face Off. I enjoy this program because it is in that genre of reality-competition show (e.g., America’s Next Top Model, The Voice) but it showcases a profession – movie make-up – that fascinates me.

All the above is superfluous to what I wanted to mention with this posting.

In various moments while watching Syfy, I have seen a network promo advertising the original movies that Syfy airs. These movies are like cheddar, gouda, and mozzarella because they are so down-right cheesy. With titles like 2-Headed Shark Attack, Mega Shark Versus Giant Octopus, and Pirahnaconda (yes, it’s part fish and part snake) you have the idea that these flicks are not going to be Fahrenheit 451 or even Waterworld.

So, when I watch this Syfy promo touting their movies, I am surprised to hear the announcer say “incredible special effects” as a poorly-made CGI gigantic snake swallows a train. Now I have a limited command of Spanish so I thought my translation may be wrong, but my lovely wife confirmed that “incredible special effects” is indeed what the announcer says.

Then, my lovely wife translated for me the entire script of what the announcer says, which goes a little something like this…

“Great acting (as the commercial shows a man in a tunic hamming it up)”
“Incredible special effects (as the aforementioned computerized reptile swallows a train)”
“Memorable lines (as actors say things like “Look at the size of that thing”)”
(Pause)
“None of which will be found in these movies!”

I had to laugh when my lovely wife provided me with this full translation. However, I now have to wonder if the parent company knows what thier Latin American child is doing with this tongue-in-cheek commercial.

Then again, if you’re a network that is going to air a movie starring Danny Bonaduce and Barry Williams about the hunt for Bigfoot, then I’m guessing you have a fully-developed sense of humor.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on June 13, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

