A Cure for the Doctor

Day 413 – September 7, 2012

In this post, I am able to cover a trio of things that please me greatly.

a) Science fiction television;
b) The Internet; and
c) Fast food

Back in the 1970s, I was a fan of the British television series Doctor Who which I could see on my local PBS station. As a boy not yet into his double digits of age, the poor production qualities of this show did not bother me at all. All I knew was that I was frightened by the Daleks and fascinated by this colorful, silly, and serious alien (the main character, The Doctor, hails from the planet Gallifrey). In my time watching this show, the only Doctor I knew was played by Tom Baker.

Fast forward to the mid-2000s and I was gobsmacked (since I’m talking about a British TV series, a slang term from that island seems appropriate) to see Doctor Who brought back to the telly (okay…I’ll stop with the Brit slang) by the BBC. Courtesy of SyFy, I was able to catch episodes of the first season with Christopher Eccleston as the Doctor. I loved the show with Baker as the travelling Time Lord and I was impressed with the show now with Eccleston driving the TARDIS. This respect for Eccleston’s acting chops only came after watching three episodes (“Dalek”, “The Empty Child”, “The Doctor Dances”).

Thanks to the technological marvel that is the Internet and iTunes, I have managed to see all the episodes of that first season and my respect for Eccleston as the Ninth Doctor – as well as for the beautiful acting of Billie Piper and for the amazing writers of the show – has only grown.

One of the unique features of this show is the fact that the producers of Doctor Who can change actors without changing the character. Part of the story of the Time Lords (the group that the Doctor belongs to) is that when they are near death, they can regenerate their bodies. When Eccleston finished his run as the Doctor, he was replaced by David Tennant.

Allow me to backtrack for a moment and I will bring it back to Mr. Tennant.

When I am not posting blogs about life in Peru or composing my next amazing literary work, I surf the Internet (and have a ball doing it, thanks for asking). A pair of my go-to websites are the image sharing site, imgur, and reddit (which you may have heard about recently because the President of the United States made an appearance).

One of the images I found while surfing was this one, which is purported to be a quote from David Tennant where he opines…

“I’ve never seen a McDonald’s or Burger King under construction. They just show up.”

Well, Mr. Tennant, as I have been walking around my district of Lima, Peru, I came across this tableau that I would like to share with you (and everyone else) now.

McDonald's coming soon in Lima, Peru

Muy Pronto = Soon

McDonald's coming soon in Lima, Peru

ETA = Two months

This story does not end here with me taking pictures and walking away. I’m not sure if it is a cultural idiosyncrasy of Peru or if I simply happened to run up against a touchy construction foreman, but…

…I think I’ll save that story for another day. Allons-y.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Peru, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

