Travel Theme: On Display

Day 427 – September 21, 2012

I have mentioned before the trials and tribulations of driving around the asphalt jungle that is Peru (see here and here for some sterling examples).

For this week’s photographic theme from Where’s My Backpack? of “On Display“, I wanted to draw your attention to another familiar sight around the intersections that can draw my attention away from watching the countdown numbers on the stoplights.

Intersections in and around Lima are spaces for public performances. For the sixty to ninety seconds that autos will be stopped at a red light is more than enough time for the show. My offering for this challenge is a juggler that I saw on our local roads.

Street juggler in Lima, Peru

A captive audience

These performers will do their act and then walk up and down the aisle of cars asking for a nuevo sole or two.

In addition to solo jugglers, I have seen pairs of throwers juggle clubs and the occasional sharp instrument. I have also seen a gentleman juggle a soccer ball on his feet, knees, and head while I waited for the green light. I have seen break dancers show their mad skillz (Point of order…as a man born in the 1960s, is it legal for me to write the words “mad skillz”?) on the asphalt. Helmets help these performers execute their head spins on the rough road.

My favorite form of street entertainment are the robots. I’m not sure if it is the same man (I’m guessing it’s a man), but I have seen a person dressed head-to-toe in a hand-made Iron Man costume. I have also seen a custom-made representation of one of the robots from the Terminator series. Then there is the gentleman dressed in a mish-mash of chrome, tin foil, and other metallic elements that gives him the look of a Cylon mixed with The Tin Man merged with Robby the Robot.

(Woo Hoo! One sentence with a troika of cultural references from Battlestar Galactica, The Wizard of Oz, and Forbidden Planet.)

Unfortunately, I have no pictures of these cyborg creations because I need to keep both hands on the wheel while driving around the insane streets of the City of Kings. I’ll put that on the to-do list for this blog.

For more insights about street performers in Lima, I highly recommend the series of postings entitled “Minstrels and Beggars” from the blog called, the burning nail.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on October 15, 2012, in Difference, Peru, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow, thank you bunches for the link! I need to get some new episodes up. Always enjoy reading your posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

