And It Was Good

Day 453 – October 17, 2012

Dinner tonight was made by our fabulous empleada, J.

Her culinary creations are fantastic and we rarely have the same dish within two weeks. She is a wizard in the kitchen and her encyclopedic knowledge of spices and flavoring is a wonder to behold and a delight for the taste buds. Since cooking is akin to magic to me as I have never truly mastered the skills needed to be of any merit around a stove, oven, or sandwich maker, I can only bow my head in awe at J’s sorcery.

Given all the above praise, tonight’s offering gave me pause, but I should have had more faith.

She made pasta (not handmade, but I wouldn’t put it past her to know how to do this and make it taste fabulous) and she made meatballs (yes, these were handmade).

She also made a sauce – from scratch – as she mashed and strained the tomatoes and added all sorts of various spices with names I can’t recall. (Are “mashed” and “strained” even real cooking terms? See what I mean about my cooking skills.)

Then, she added…

…and I hesitate even now to record this item for posterity, so I will only append an image to show you J’s secret ingredient…

Pineapple

In Spanish, it is called “pina”.

J chopped up this fruit that is neither pine nor apple and placed those chunks into her sauce.

As much as our kids made faces and rolled their eyes, we have a rule in our house that every new food has to be tried before judgement can be passed. So we all tried pasta with meatballs in a tomato sauce with hunks of Ananas comosus in it for the first time.

As you may have surmised – as the title of this post foreshadowed – not only was it good, it was muy bueno.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on October 18, 2012, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

