Museum Photography: Natural History

Day 358 – July 14, 2012

Following on the heels of a post I did concerning a series of photographs at Perufloral 2012, I wanted to share this other exercise in street photography that I created while I was on vacation back in the United States.

Our location today is the Smithsonian Institution National Museum of Natural History located on the National Mall. Yes, I understand that, technically, I am not engaging in street photography as I used my camera in a museum, but I hope that you will grant me some leeway.

Rather than walk around the museum snapping photos as I moved (which I did do, but that’s a post for another time), I stayed in one spot to see what would come into my viewfinder. To make it even more interesting to me, I decided to use one of the artifacts as a frame. Let’s meet our frame, a rai stone located on the lowest floor of the museum.

Rai at Smithsonian Musuem of Natural History

Our subject

And now, the photos…

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Subject through rai hole at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

Finally, just in case you wanted to know what a rai actually is…

Info card about rai at Smithsonian Museum of Natural History

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on November 21, 2012, in Photography, United States and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

