So Let it Be Written

March 25, 2013 – Day 612

Happy Passover (or Chag Sameach, if you prefer) from us down here south of the Equator.

This holiday is celebrated with a seder, the Passover dinner. It is a time when the whole family comes together to celebrate, commemorate, and remember their Jewish heritage and identity.

There’s lots of eating also, but that’s a given when it comes to Jewish holidays (uh, except for Yom Kippur…but that’s a whole other ball of wax).

Tonight our family has been graciously invited to another family’s seder in Lima. I am disappointed that our travels means that, for the second consecutive time, I will not be celebrating Passover with either my family or my lovely’s wife’s family. They will not be able to hear my children recite the Four Questions nor will my kids be able to ransom the afikomen from them once they discover its hiding place.

Sigh!

I am grateful for the invitation from the friends of my lovely wife so that we will all be able to enjoy matzah, charoset, and whatever other morsels our hosts are making. At least we will be able to celebrate in a fashion.

I will miss my family and my in-laws on this holiday, but there is one other facet to this day that I will sorely miss because I live in Lima.

I realize it’s a small thing, but it is often the small things that make a tradition.

Sigh(x2)!

Here in Lima, there is no broadcast television network (say, ABC) that will be airing The Ten Commandments, Cecil B. DeMille’s 1956 epic movie that is the story of Passover.

I will not be able to see Charlton Heston raise his arms and split the Red Sea. I will not hear Edward G. Robinson (in that oh-so-Egyptian-like New York accent of his) say, “Where’s your Messiah, now?”. I will not be able to hear Yul Bynner utter, “So let it be written, so it shall be done.”

I guess there’s always iTunes, but it’s just not the same.

About sinpolaris

Xavier Humes is the psuedonym of an American living in Lima, Peru, with his wife and family. That's about all's ya need to know concerning me...except to enjoy the posts.

Posted on March 25, 2013, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

