Lone Regret

June 23, 2013 – Day 702

The van is waiting outside. All eleven of our suitcases are by the garage door waiting to be loaded into the van. The house is looking just as white and stark and empty as it was when we arrived 702 days ago.

I am at the front door with my had on the door knob about to close the door for the last time.

We are leaving Lima, our home for two years, and we will never be back to this house ever again. We have had, over the long run, an excellent time in Peru. We have seen new sights, experiencing new things, and ate new foods.

Over a span of seven hundred and two days, we have travelled to Machu Picchu, the city of Cusco, the ruins of Suqsaywaman, and the jungles around Iquitos (to name a few places).

Members of the family have surfed in the Pacific Ocean, sandboarded down the dunes in Ica, and saw a dead pig in a trunk (to name a few events).

We have sampled rocoto peppers, pisco, and cuttlefish (to name a few items).

We have seen a great deal, done a great deal, and eaten a great deal during our time on Peru. In all of our adventures and experiences, I have absolutely no regrets…save one.

As my hand leaves the door knob and I make my way to the vehicle that will whisk me to the airport that will take me to the vehicle that will whisk me away from Peru, I am truly full of regret that I never pushed the button.

About sinpolaris

sinpolaris is the psuedonym of a guy who likes to write.

Posted on August 21, 2013, in Difference, Peru and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

